About Us

The Department has been training specialists in Obstetrics and Gynaecology since 1972. The output has been on average 10 to 15 specialists per year to date. Thus, the Department has not been able to meet the national demand for specialists in obstetrics and gynaecology, having trained about 500 so far in spite of the rapidly growing population. The current estimate of obstetrician/gynaecologist-to-population ratio in Kenya is 1:140,000, which falls far short of the World Health Organization (WHO) recommended ratio of 1:10,000. In addition, the establishment of new medical schools has increased the demand for obstetricians and gynaecologists required to provide quality training in the country.  Thus, existing national gaps, emerging reproductive health needs and advancing technological approaches have made it necessary to revise the existing curriculum for Master of Medicine in Obstetrics and Gynaecology. The revised curriculum will also instil leadership qualities to the specialists for effective service delivery in alignment with the Millennium Development Goals and attainment of Vision 2030 of Kenya.  The graduates will be expected to be self motivated professionals, adaptable to changing technologies and able to embrace a holistic approach to reproductive health care and research.  The Department is committed to reviewing this curriculum every five years.

The Heads of department from inception to date are:

  1. Prof Donald Gebbi
  2. Prof Mati J.K.G
  3. Prof. Ojwang S.B.O
  4. Prof. Sinei
  5. Dr Wanjala S. (Sept 1989 - August 1992)
  6. Dr. Sanghvi H.C.G (Sept 1992 - July 1994)
  7. Prof. Karanja J.G. (August1994 - July 2000)
  8. Prof Oyieke J.B. (August 2000 - July 2006)
  9. Prof Koigi Kamau (August 2006 -July 2012)
  10. Prof Qureshi Z.Q. (August 2012 - to date)