Dr. Kihara elected FIGO president

Dr. Ann Beatrice Kihara was elected president of the International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO) 2021 to 2023.

FIGO is a professional organization that brings together obstetrical and gynecological professional societies from 132 countries from around the globe. 

Dr Kihara, a senior lecturer in the department, is a well-known champion of the highest standards of sexual and reproductive health and rights for all women who has previously held the positions of the president of the Kenya Obstetrical and Gynecological society (KOGS) and latest as the president, African Federation of Obstetrics and Gynecology (AFOG).

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology celebrates Dr. Kihara on her election and wishes her well in her endeavors. Below is a summary of her biography.

She holds a Master’s Degree in Obstetrics and Gynaecology (MMED) and Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery Degree (MBChB) both from University of Nairobi. In addition to her professional qualifications, she is certified in research capacity for maternal, neonatal and child health policy, practice and in Operational Research.

Currently, a Senior Lecturer at the University of Nairobi, Faculty of Health Sciences, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology as well as a Specialist Obstetrician Gynaecologist at Kenyatta National Hospital Nairobi, Kenya.

Having worked for over 25 years’ professionally, she has held positions in various health institutions both at District and Provincial level as a Medical Officer in charge, prior to her teaching career that began in 2006 as a Lecturer at the University of Nairobi Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and where she is currently a Senior Lecturer since 2013.

She has provided leadership in the coordination of the postgraduate program and contributed to implementation of Objective structured clinical examination (OSCE) and realignment of the postgraduate student log books in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology; participated in the review of the Department Masters’ Program Curriculum and the Fellowship Program in Oncology.